قارئ العملة القطرية: تطبيق جوال ذكي لدعم الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة البصرية – بدعم من برنامج مدى للابتكار.

قارئ العملة القطرية: تطبيق جوال ذكي لدعم الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة البصرية – بدعم من برنامج مدى للابتكار.

أنور المجركش، شهباز أحمد

ورقة علمية وصول مفتوح | متاح بتاريخ:25 يناير, 2022 | آخر تعديل:30 يناير, 2022

ملفّ PDF نفاذ

نفاذ 19

نبذة

في عام 2018، قام Innovation Factory Limited بتطوير تطبيق فريد للهواتف الذكية يسمى “قارئ العملة القطرية” وهو ممول بالكامل من خلال مسار المنح المباشرة لبرنامج مدى للابتكار (MIP ، 2021). ويمكن للتطبيق مسح العملة القطرية والتعرف عليها بمجرد استخدام كاميرا الهاتف الذكي. وكان هذا الحل فعالاً بشكل كبير للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة البصرية والمتقدمين في السن مع الحفاظ على خصوصيتهم من خلال تمكينهم من التعرف على قيمة الأوراق النقدية عندما يكونون في الأماكن العامة أو عندما يحتاجون إلى عد أموالهم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يشتمل التطبيق على ميزات أخرى مثل قراءة العملة القطري في الوقت الفعلي والعمل دون الحاجة إلى الاتصال بالإنترنت. وبمجرد اكتشاف العملة، سيقوم التطبيق بإبلاغ المستخدم بقيمة المال باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية. ومع الإصدار الجديد للأوراق النقدية القطرية، قام برنامج مدى للابتكار بدعم تطوير تطبيق النسخة الثانية من “قارئ العملة” مع ميزات إضافية مثل التعرف عن الأوراق النقدية الجديدة وتعدادها ويجري حالياً اختبار ميزة اكتشاف الأوراق المزيفة. وقد استضاف مركز مدى مجموعات تركيز وعقد جلسات اختبار للمستخدمين لتقييم التطبيق قبل إطلاقه رسمياً.

مقدمة

يشكل تحديد قيمة الأوراق النقدية أحد التحديات الرئيسية التي يواجهها الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة البصرية والمتقدمين في السن (Tian وآخرون، 2019). وتجعل مثل هذه التحديات ممارسة الأنشطة اليومية الأساسية أمراً صعباً، مثل الحاجة إلى طلب المساعدة لتحديد قيمة وصحة هذه الأوراق النقدية. ومن هنا ظهرت الحاجة لتطوير الحلول التي يمكنها تقييم أصالة وقيمة العملات المحلية والدولية الرئيسية باستخدام جهاز عادي مثل الهاتف الذكي. إن قدرات الهواتف الذكية المتطورة وقابلية حمل هذه الأجهزة تجعلها مثالية للعمل كمنصات مناسبة لدمج الحلول القائمة على التطبيقات فيها لمواجهة مثل هذه التحديات (MIP ، 2019).

وبشكلها التقليدي، تميل حلول التكنولوجيا المساعدة للمكفوفين وذوي الإعاقة البصرية والمتقدمين في السن إلى أن تأتي على شكل أجهزة مخصصة باهظة الثمن (مثل قارئات برايل ومكبرات المستندات وقارئات شاشة الكمبيوتر وما إلى ذلك) (El Ghoul  وآخرون ، 2020). ويعتزم برنامج مدى للابتكار MIP (آل ثاني وآخرون، 2019) تقديم الدعم لمثل هذه الحلول لحل مشاكل الحياة اليومية من خلال دمج حل التكنولوجيا المساعدة في جهاز شائع الاستعمال. الأمر الذي يجعل من هذا الحل متاحًا لمجموعة أكبر بكثير من المستخدمين مع توفر خيارات اللغة العربية والإنجليزية والذي سيكون له تأثير كبير في مجتمع المكفوفين وذوي الإعاقة البصرية والمتقدمين في السن.

حول تطبيق “قارئ العملة القطرية”

مع مرور الوقت، تلقى تطبيق “قارئ العملة القطرية” ملاحظات مختلفة من المستخدمين لإضافة المزيد من الميزات التي تعتبر مهمة لحياتهم اليومية. على سبيل المثال، عندما يسافرون إلى الخارج سيسمح لهم ذلك بالعيش بشكل مستقل دون طلب المساعدة من الناس أو أن يتم خداعهم بأوراق نقدية مزيفة أو مبلغ غير صحيح من قبل الغرباء. كما جعل التغيير في الأوراق النقدية القطرية في أوائل عام 2021 من الضروري تحديث التطبيق وتعديله وإضافة ميزات محسّنة.

Capture1الشكل 1. رحلة الابتكار في تطبيق قارئ العملة القطرية  (برنامج مدى للابتكار ، 2019)

قام برنامج مدى للابتكار بدعم وتمويل تطوير النسخة المطورة من تطبيق قارئ العملة القطرية الذي يحتوي على أول خوارزمية من نوعها لحساب العملات المتعددة وأسعار الصرف ويمكنه التعرف على الأوراق النقدية المزيفة من خلال كاميرا الهاتف الذكي ومن خلال استخدام أساليب التعلم العميق باستخدام ضوء الأشعة فوق البنفسجية المتصل بالهاتف الذكي. كما دعم البرنامج تطبيق قارئ العملة خلال عدة خطوات من المشروع بما في ذلك تطوير المنتج واختباره ونشره من خلال مجموعات التركيز واختبار المستخدم وجلسات العرض والتعليق (MIP ، 2021).

كيف يعمل هذا التطبيق؟

تم استخدام مكتبة  TensorFlow ( Abadi  وآخرون 2016) لتصنيف الصور والحساب الرقمي عالي الأداء. وهي تدعم العديد من خوارزميات التصنيف والانحدار، وبشكل عام، التعلم العميق والشبكات العصبية. ويعمل النظام من خلال استخدام مجموعة من عينات صور الأوراق النقدية القطرية لتدريب مجموعة من خوارزميات التصنيف. ولا يتم تدريب النظام يدويًا ولا يعتمد على أي خصائص مميزة منتقاة يدويًا توجد عادةً في مثل هذه الأورراق. وبدلاً من ذلك، يتم اتباع نهج أكثر قوة للتعلم الآلي حيث يتم استخدام بيانات التدريب لتوجيه الخوارزمية للتعرف على الأوراق النقدية المماثلة عندما يتم تقديمها إليها لاحقًا من قبل المستخدمين من ذوي الإعاقة البصرية. ويركز تصميم النظام الحالي على عملات الريال القطري والجنيه الإسترليني والعملة الأمريكية ولكن يمكن توسيع هذه التقنية بسهولة لتشمل العملات الأخرى.

تم تطبيق مجموعة فرعية من تصنيف الصور مع ميزة اكتشاف الكائن، حيث تم تحديد أمثلة معينة من الكائنات على أنها تنتمي إلى فئة معينة من الورقة النقدية الممسوحة ضوئيًا. وفي هذه الحالة المحددة للتعرف على الصور تكون الميزات هي مجموعات البكسلات مثل الحواف والنقاط لورقة ستحللها الشبكة بحثًا عن الأنماط المطلوبة. وهكذا فإن المقاربة المستخدمة تتضمن مسح مجموعة واسعة من المعايير في كل ورقة نقدية:

  • شكل الأوراق النقدية.
  • الأرقام والنصوص المكتوبة.
  • الصور والألوان.
  • الأنماط المرئية والمخفية.

Screen Snaps of the Application Featuresالشكل 2. لقطات شاشة لميزات التطبيق (MIP  2021)

يحتوي الإصدار الثاني من تطبيق قارئ العملة على ميزة تجريبية لاكتشاف الأوراق النقدية الحقيقية باستخدام ضوء الأشعة فوق البنفسجية. وقد تم تضمين هذه الميزة لتقييم التأثير على الأوراق النقدية وتنفيذها بشكل دائم. ويتطلب التطبيق لاكتشاف الأوراق النقدية الحقيقية ضوءًا فوق بنفسجي خارجي يسمح بأن تكون الأنماط المخفية مرئية على الأوراق النقدية. علاوة على ذلك، يستخدم التطبيق طريقة معالجة الصور لمسح الأوراق النقدية والتعرف عليها عند مطابقة الأنماط المخفية مع قاعدة البيانات. وتتضمن الميزات المحدّثة في تطبيق قارئ العملة القطرية:

  • دعم الكشف عن العملات الجديدة (الدولار الأمريكي والجنيه الإسترليني والريال القطري الجديد).
  • الصرف من / إلى الريال القطري من / إلى (الدولار الأمريكي والجنيه الإسترليني).
  • مزيج الصرف من / إلى الريال القطري من / إلى (الدولار الأمريكي والجنيه الإسترليني).
  • عد العملات (الدولار، الجنيه الإسترليني).
  • العد (دولار أمريكي، جنيه إسترليني) + التحويل إلى الريال القطري.
  • تجارب على الكشف عن الأوراق النقدية المزيفة والحقيقية باستخدام الأشعة فوق البنفسجية وطرق أخرى.

اختبار المستخدم وعملية التحقق من قبل مجموعة التركيز

تم تنظيم جلسات اختبار المستخدم وجلسات مجموعات التركيز مع ثمانية مشاركين بما فيهم أشخاص من  ذوي الإعاقة البصرية لمناقشة احتياجاتهم وتقديم ملاحظاتهم حول الإصدار الجديد من التطبيق. وأثناء هذه الجلسات، تضمنت الميزات التي حظيت بتقدير المشاركين  ميزة سهولة الاستخدام، عدم وجود أزرار لاستخدام هذه الميزة، فقط قم بمسح الأوراق النقدية المستهدفة وسيخبرك بسعر الصرف للأوراق النقدية الأخرى. كما تم تزويد جميع الحاضرين بهواتف محمولة تعمل بنظامي IOS و Android مزودة بتطبيق قارئ العملة القطرية مع حقيبة تحتوي أوراق نقدية قطرية جديدة وقديمة  لاختبار التطبيق.

وخلال جلسة مجموعات التركيز، سلط المستخدم الضوء على الكيفية التي سيعمل بها مثل هذا التطبيق على تحسين الاستقلالية وتجربة البيع بالتجزئة الآمنة للأشخاص من ذويال إعاقة البصرية أو المكفوفين. ويضمن الحل أن الأشخاص المكفوفين سيمكنهم التعامل مع متطلباتهم المالية بشكل مستقل وآمن خلال تجربتهم في البيع بالتجزئة.

Focus-group for testing of Qatari Money reader

الشكل 3 – مجموعة التركيز لاختبار تطبيق قارئ النقود القطرية من قبل الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة البصرية للتحقق من دقة التعرف على الأوراق النقدية الحقيقية والمزيفة باستخدام ضوء الأشعة فوق البنفسجية

وبناء على توصيات مجموعة التركيز وتعليقات المستخدمين، يغطي التطبيق الدولار الأمريكي (USD) والجنيه الإسترليني (GBP) لأنهم الوجهة الأكثر شيوعًا للسفر، وسيدعم التطبيق بشكل إجمالي تلك العملات التي ستسمح للمستخدم بالشعور بالاستقلالية. كما لا يتطلب التطبيق الوصول إلى الإنترنت للحصول على قيم سعر الصرف لأنه قام بتخزين الاسعار الأخيرة من السوق وعندما يعود الاتصال بالإنترنت يقوم التطبيق بتحديث جميع أسعار الصرف. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تتيح ميزة مسح الأوراق النقدية للمستخدمين حساب الأوراق النقدية الثلاث: الريال القطري والدولار الأمريكي والجنيه الإسترليني. وفي الوقت نفسه، ومن خلال الكشف عن الأوراق النقدية المزيفة باستخدام ضوء الأشعة فوق البنفسجية الخارجي، كان التطبيق قادرًا على التعرف على جميع الأنماط المخفية عبر كاميرا الهاتف الذكي وإخطار المستخدمين النهائيين عند اكتشاف الأوراق النقدية الحقيقية.

كيفية تنزيل التطبيق

إن تطبيق قارئ العملة القطرية متوفر عبر كل من App Store و Google Play ويجذب المستخدمين لتنزيله واستخدامه. ولتنزيل التطبيق، يمكن للمستخدمين البحث في متاجر التطبيقات على كلا النظامين الأساسيين باستخدام مصطلح “Qatari Money Reader”. كما يمكنك مسح رمز الاستجابة السريعة لمعرفة المزيد عن التطبيق وكيفية تنزيله.

QR Code

الشكل 1 رمز الاستجابة السريعة  لتنزيل تطبيق قارئ العملة القطرية

الخاتمة

وبالتالي، يعد الإصدار الجديد من تطبيق قارئ العملة القطرية أحد النجاحات التي حققها برنامج مدى للابتكار، والذي صُمم لتشجيع المبتكرين على إيجاد حلول باللغة العربية للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة والمتقدمين في السن. وأخيرًا، سيساعد اعتماد مثل هذه الحلول أيضًا في القضاء على تداول العملات الورقية المزيفة من خلال السماح للمستخدمين بالتحقق على الفور من صحة أوراقهم النقدية.

المراجع

Abadi, M., Barham, P., Chen, J., Chen, Z., Davis, A., Dean, J., … & Zheng, X. (2016). TensorFlow: A system for large-scale machine learning. In 12th {USENIX} symposium on operating systems design and implementation ({OSDI} 16) (pp. 265-283).

Al Thani, D., Al Tamimi, A., Othman, A., Habib, A., Lahiri, A., & Ahmed, S. (2019, December). Mada Innovation Program: A Go-to-Market ecosystem for Arabic Accessibility Solutions. In 2019 7th International Conference on ICT & Accessibility (ICTA) (pp. 1-3). IEEE.

El Ghoul, O., Ahmed, I., Othman, A., Al-Thani, D. A., & Al-Tamimi, A. (2020, September). An Overview of the New 8-Dots Arabic Braille Coding System. In International Conference on Computers Helping People with Special Needs (pp. 339-345). Springer, Cham

Mada Innovation Program. (2019). Real-time Identification Currency Bills Authenticity for Blind Consumers. Mada Center. https://mip.mada.org.qa/focused-area-use-cases/retail/real-time-identification-currency-bills-authenticity-for-blind-consumers/ (Accessed online on Nov 15, 2021)

Mada Innovation Program. (2021). Qatari Money Reader App – V2. Mada Center. https://mip.mada.org.qa/solution/arabic-money-reader-app/ (Accessed online on Nov 15, 2021)

Tian, M. W., Yan, S. R., Tian, X. X., & Liu, J. A. (2019). Research on image recognition method of bank financing bill based on binary tree decision. Journal of Visual Communication and Image Representation, 60, 123-128.

Share this

Qatari Money Reader: A smart mobile app to support persons with visual impairment – Supported by Mada Innovation Program

Qatari Money Reader: A smart mobile app to support persons with visual impairment – Supported by Mada Innovation Program

Anwar Almojarkesh, Shahbaz Ahmed

Research article Open access | Available online on: 25 January, 2022 | Last update: 22 June, 2022

Abstract

In 2018, Innovation Factory Limited developed a unique smartphone application called “Qatari Money Reader” fully funded through the direct grant stream under the Mada Innovation Program (MIP, 2021). The app can scan and identify Qatari currency by just using the camera of the smartphone. The solution was effective for people with visual impairment & the elderly while retaining their privacy by identifying the value of the notes when they are in public places or when they need to count their money. In Addition to that, the app includes other features like reading the Qatari Riyal currency in real-time and works entirely offline without the need to have internet connectivity. Once the currency is detected, the app will inform the user about the value of money in Arabic and English. With the update in the Qatari Bills, the Mada Innovation program supported the development of Money Reader App V2 with added features like new bill detection, Counting notes, Exchange notes and Experiment on fake note detection. Mada hosted focus groups and user testing sessions to evaluate the application before the official dissemination.

Introduction

Primarily, identifying the value of banknotes is one of the main challenges faced by people with visual impairments and elderly (Tian et al., 2019). Such challenges make it hard to exercise basic daily activities, like needing to seek assistance to determine the value and authenticity of such bills. There is a necessity for developing solutions that can evaluate the authenticity and value of local and major international currency bills using a mainstream device such as a smartphone. The increased hardware capability and portability of such devices make them ideal to serve as suitable platforms to integrate app-based solutions to resolving such challenges (MIP, 2019).

Traditionally, assistive technologies for the blind and visually impaired and elderly community tend to be in the form of expensive dedicated devices (e.g., braille readers, document magnifiers, computer screen readers, etc.) (El Ghoul et al., 2020). Mada Innovation program MIP (Al-Thani et al., 2019) intends to offer support to such solutions to solve daily life problems by incorporating the assistive technology solution into a mainstream device. This makes the solution available to a much wider range of users with Arabic and English language options having a significant impact within the blind, visually impaired and elderly community.

About the “Qatari Money Reader” application

With time, the “Qatari Money Reader” application received various feedback from users to add more features that it’s important for their daily life. For instance, when they travel abroad which will allow them to live independently without asking for help from the public or get scammed with fake notes or the incorrect amount by strangers. Also, the change in Qatari bills in early 2021 has made it mandatory for the app to be updated and modified with improved features.

Innovation journey of Qatari Money Reader app

Figure 1. (Mada Innovation Program, 2019)

Furthermore, MIP supported and funded the development of the upgraded version of money reader application has the first of its kind algorithm to calculate multiple currencies, exchange rates and can identify fake notes through the smartphone camera and through using the deep learning approaches using an UV light attached to the smartphone. Also, the program supported the money reader app in several steps of the project including the development, testing, and dissemination of the product through focus groups, user testing and show & tell sessions (MIP, 2021).

How does it work?

TensorFlow Library (Abadi et al., 2016) was used for image classification and high-performance numerical computation. It supports many classification and regression algorithms, and more generally, deep learning and neural networks. The system works by using a set of sample images of Qatari bills which are used to train a set of classification algorithms. The system is not trained by hand and does not rely on any hand-picked distinguishing characteristics usually found on such bills. Instead, a more robust machine learning approach is followed whereby the training data is used to guide the algorithm in recognizing similar bills when they are later presented to it by the visually impaired user. The current system design focuses on QAR, GBP, and US currency bills but the technique can be easily extended for other currencies.

A subset of image classification with object detection, where specific instances of objects are identified as belonging to a certain class of scanned bill was applied. In this specific case of image recognition, the features are the groups of pixels, like edges and points, of an object that the network will analyze for patterns. The approach is scanning a wide range of parameters on each note:

  • The shape of the notes
  • Numbers & Texts
  • Images & Colors
  • Visible and hidden Patterns

  Screen Snaps of the Application Features   

Figure 2. Screen Snaps of the Application Features (MIP, 2021)

The money reader app v2 had an experiment feature to detect genuine notes using UV lights. This feature was embedded to evaluate the effect on the bills and implement it permanently. For the genuine note’s detection, the app requires an external UV light which will allow hidden patterns to be visible on the notes. Furthermore, the app is using an image processing approach to scan notes and detect them when hidden patterns are matched with the database. The updated features in the Qatari Money Reader app are:

  • Support new currencies (USD, GBP, and new Qatari Riyal) detection
  • Exchange to/from Qatari to/from (USD, GBP)
  • Exchange Mix to/from Qatari to/from (USD, GBP)
  • Counting (USD, GBP) currencies.
  • Counting (USD, GBP) + Exchange to Qatari Riyal.
  • Experiments on detecting fake and genuine notes using UV lights and other methods.

User testing and focus group validation process

User testing and focus group sessions were organized with eight attendees including people with visual impairments to discuss their needs and to provide feedback on the new version of the app. During the sessions, Easy to use feature, no buttons are required to use this feature only scan the targeted notes and will tell the exchange rates for other notes was appreciated by the users. IOS and Android Mobile phones loaded with Money reader Application was provided with a mix bag of New and old Qatari bill was provided to all attendees to test the application.

During the focus group session, the user highlighted how such an app will improve the independency and secured retail experience for the person with visual impairment or blindness. The solution ensures that persons with blindness can transact their monetary requirements independently and secure manner during their retail experience.

Focus-group for testing of Qatari Money reader

Figure 3. Focus-group for testing of Qatari Money reader app by persons with visual impairment to check the accuracy of recognizing genuine and fake bills using UV light

Based on the focus group and user feedback, the application includes scanning of the US dollars (USD) and British pounds (GBP) as those are the most commonly travelled destination, the app in total will support those currencies which will allow the user to feel independent. The app does not require internet access to get the exchange rate values as it has stored the last values from the market and when the connection is back the app will update all exchange values. Additionally, the counting notes feature allows users to count all 3 notes: QAR, USD, and GBP. At the same time, fake note detection using external UV light, the app was able to recognize all hidden patterns via the smartphone camera and notify the end-users when genuine notes have been detected.

How to download the App

The Qatari Money Reader application is available on both App Store and Google Play stores and attracts users to download and use it. To download the app, users can search the application stores on both platforms using the term ‘Qatari Money Reader’. You can scan the QR Code to know more about the application and how to download.

QR Code

Figure 4: QR Code to download the Qatari Money Reader App

Conclusion

Thus, the new version of the Qatari Money Reader app is one of the successes achieved by the Mada Innovation Program, which was designed to encourage innovators to find solutions in Arabic for people with disabilities and the elderly. Lastly, the adoption of such solutions would also aid in eliminating the circulation of fraudulent currency notes by allowing users to instantly validate the authenticity of their notes.

References

Abadi, M., Barham, P., Chen, J., Chen, Z., Davis, A., Dean, J., … & Zheng, X. (2016). TensorFlow: A system for large-scale machine learning. In 12th {USENIX} symposium on operating systems design and implementation ({OSDI} 16) (pp. 265-283).

Al Thani, D., Al Tamimi, A., Othman, A., Habib, A., Lahiri, A., & Ahmed, S. (2019, December). Mada Innovation Program: A Go-to-Market ecosystem for Arabic Accessibility Solutions. In 2019 7th International Conference on ICT & Accessibility (ICTA) (pp. 1-3). IEEE.

El Ghoul, O., Ahmed, I., Othman, A., Al-Thani, D. A., & Al-Tamimi, A. (2020, September). An Overview of the New 8-Dots Arabic Braille Coding System. In International Conference on Computers Helping People with Special Needs (pp. 339-345). Springer, Cham

Mada Innovation Program. (2019). Real-time Identification Currency Bills Authenticity for Blind Consumers. Mada Center. https://mip.mada.org.qa/focused-area-use-cases/retail/real-time-identification-currency-bills-authenticity-for-blind-consumers/ (Accessed online on Nov 15, 2021)

Mada Innovation Program. (2021). Qatari Money Reader App – V2. Mada Center. https://mip.mada.org.qa/solution/arabic-money-reader-app/ (Accessed online on Nov 15, 2021)

Tian, M. W., Yan, S. R., Tian, X. X., & Liu, J. A. (2019). Research on image recognition method of bank financing bill based on binary tree decision. Journal of Visual Communication and Image Representation, 60, 123-128.

Share this